Menu
Knowledge, Dry Ager, Events

‘On the dot’– DRY AGER® wins Red Dot Design Award 2018


DRY AGER – Red Dot Award Winners

The Red Dot – also renowned in Germany as ‘der rote Punkt’ – is one of the most sought-after design awards in the world of products. This quality emblem defines the most innovative of international brands. From televisions to eye cream, some remarkably aesthetic and at the same time functional designs can adorn themselves with the Red Dot. In 2018, the DRY AGER® dry aging fridge from Landig was among the select few winners.

 

Simply a winner – the DRY AGER® dry aging fridge

The Red Dot Award is one of the most renowned design awards in the world. For this competition in 2018, designers and manufacturers from 59 nations submitted more than 6300 items. This year yet again the independent jury comprised an international team of design experts such as Berlin Professor Werner Aisslinger, whose own works have been exhibited far and wide, including in the Museum of Modern Art in New York, or the Italian President of the World Design Organization Dr. Luisa Bocchietto.

 


DRY AGER – Red Dot Award Logo
 

This specialist jury for the Red Dot Award evaluates the entries in 48 product categories individually on the basis of stringent criteria such as the level of innovation, functionality, durability or ecological compatibility. Then the sensual and emotional content of the design as well as its self-explanatory quality have a role to play. At the end of the day, this is about more than the physical appearance of an item. The DRY AGER® dry aging cabinet carried conviction in all categories. The intuitive operation was as striking as the timeless stainless steel design. This is why the DRY AGER® is one of the Red Dot Award winners in 2018.

 

From basement to designer heaven – with dry aged beef

The Swabian company Landig has already won several awards for the DRY AGER®. The workforce and management team are always delighted with every new success. “It’s really quite crazy”, says Marketing Director Alexander Beck, “The Landig brothers Aaron and Christian develop the first DRY AGER down in their basement – and a few years later, we get virtually overwhelmed with awards.

 


DRY AGER DX 500 – Red Dot Award

 

 

DRY AGER Marketingleiter Alexander Beck

In 2017, the company applied to these competitions, “pretty much on a whim”. The four awards now garnered demonstrate that this was the right decision to have taken, all brought home by the DRY AGER. “With the Red Dot Award, this is akin to the crowning achievement”, states Alexander Beck.

“Some time ago, I was standing in the shop and saw the logo with the red dot on a packaging item. Then thought to myself what a good idea that must be! Now we can place it on our own product and can state with genuine pride: The DRY AGER functions every bit as magnificently as it looks. Simply good and sexy!”, Alexander Beck laughs. “No, but seriously, an award of this stature praises our work, and makes our entire team really proud”.

 

Celebrated design

The victors will be honoured at the Red Dot Gala in Essen when the special prizes will be awarded. This Gala also acts as an opening ceremony. That is because the winning products will be exhibited for four weeks in a special exhibition at the Red Dot Design Museum in Essen. The award-winning products will receive their official seal as well as a portrait in the Red Dot Design Yearbook.

 

The prize

The Red Dot Award has been in existence since 1955 and to this day, it defines the best products of the year on an annual basis. True to the motto “In search of good design and innovation”, a jury of about 40 people evaluates the products individually and in their original form.

 

More DRY AGER awards: iF Design Award | German Design Award | Plus X Award

 

For more news and stories check out our social media channels:

FacebookInstagram | Youtube

Menü
Wissen, Dry Ager, Events

Auf den Punkt gebracht – DRY AGER® gewinnt Red Dot Design Award 2018


DRY AGER – Winner Red Dot Award 2018

Der Red Dot – auf deutsch der rote Punkt – ist eine der begehrtesten Design-Auszeichnungen in der Produktwelt. Das Qualitätssiegel zeichnet die innovativsten internationalen Marken aus. Vom Fernseher bis zur Augen-Creme dürfen sich besonders ästhetische und gleichzeitig funktionale Designs mit dem roten Punkt schmücken. 2018 gehört auch der DRY AGER® Reifeschrank von Landig zu den ausgesuchten Gewinnern.

 

Einfach ein Gewinner – der DRY AGER® Fleischreifeschrank

Der Red Dot Award ist eine der renommiertesten Designauszeichnungen weltweit. Für den Wettbewerb 2018 reichten Designer und Hersteller aus 59 Nationen mehr als 6.300 Objekte ein. Auch in diesem Jahr bestand die unabhängige Jury aus internationalen Design-Experten wie dem Berliner Professor Werner Aisslinger, dessen eigene Werke u.a. im Museum of Modern Art in New York ausgestellt wurden, oder der italienischen Präsidentin der World Design Organization Dr. Luisa Bocchietto.

 


DRY AGER – Red Dot Award Logo
 

Die Fach-Jury des Red Dot Award bewertet die Produkte der 48 Produktkategorien individuell nach strengen Kriterien wie Innovationsgrad, Funktionalität, Langlebigkeit oder ökologische Verträglichkeit. Aber auch der sinnliche und emotionale Gehalt des Designs sowie die Selbsterklärungsqualität spielen eine Rolle. Schließlich geht es nicht um das Aussehen allein. Der DRY AGER® konnte in allen Kategorien überzeugen. Die intuitive Bedienung glänzte hier ebenso wie das zeitlose Edelstahl-Design. Deshalb gehört der DRY AGER® zu den Red Dot Award Gewinnern 2018.

 

Aus dem Keller in den Designer-Himmel – mit trockengereiftem Fleisch

Das schwäbische Unternehmen Landig erhielt bereits mehrfach Auszeichnungen für den DRY AGER®. Über den Erfolg freuen sich aber Mitarbeiterinnen und Unternehmensführung jedes Mal aufs Neue. „Eigentlich ist es echt verrückt“, sagt Marketingleiter Alexander Beck, „die Landig-Brüder Aaron und Christian entwickeln in ihrem Keller den ersten DRY AGER – und ein paar Jahre später werden wir mit Awards quasi überhäuft.

 


DRY AGER DX 500 – Red Dot Award

 

 

DRY AGER Marketingleiter Alexander Beck2017 bewarb sich das Unternehmen „mehr aus einer Laune heraus“ bei den Wettbewerben. Dass diese Entscheidung die richtige war, zeigen die vier Auszeichnungen, die der DRY AGER seither eingeheimst hat.

Mit dem Red Dot Award ist uns sowas wie der krönende Abschluss geglückt“, sagt Alexander Beck. „Früher stand ich im Laden und habe das Logo mit dem roten Punkt auf einer Verpackung gesehen. Dann dachte ich: das muss gut sein! Jetzt bringen wir es auf unser eigenes Produkt auf und können mit vollem Stolz sagen: Der DRY AGER funktioniert genau so hervorragend wie er aussieht. Einfach gut und sexy!“, Alexander Beck lacht. „Nein, im Ernst, so ein Award würdigt unsere Arbeit und macht unser gesamtes Team richtig stolz.“

 

Gefeiertes Design

Im Rahmen der Red Dot Gala in Essen wurden die Sieger geehrt und die Sonderpreise überreicht. Die Gala ist dabei gleichzeitig Eröffnungsfeier. Denn die Gewinnerprodukte werden für vier Wochen in einer Sonderausstellung im Red Dot Design Museum in Essen präsentiert. Die prämierten Produkte erhalten neben dem Siegel auch ein Porträt im Red Dot Design Yearbook.

 

Der Preis

Der Red Dot Award besteht bereits seit 1955 und ermittelt bis heute die besten Produkte eines jeden Jahres. Getreu dem Motto „In search of good design and innovation“ bewertet eine rund 40-köpfige Jury die Produkte individuell und am Original.

 

Mehr DRY AGER Auszeichnungen: iF Design Award | German Design Award | Plus X Award

 

Mehr News und Stories finden Sie in unseren Social Media Kanälen.

FacebookInstagram | Youtube