Menu

Dry-aged beef production also used to be referred to simply as “hanging meat”. This is because after slaughtering the sides of beef are first allowed to dangle freely in the air, well chilled at temperatures of around freezing point. This allows liquid to escape and vital enzymes to quietly do their work. This produces a delicate, full-flavoured dry-aged meat that is very popular not just with steak connoisseurs.


Dry Aged Beef of Cattle

But dry-aged beef production has two small drawbacks: It is time-consuming and entails a loss of volume of up to 30% – but not in the DRY AGER®. In this fridge, the pure weight loss resulting from liquid escaping after four weeks of aging on the bone is only around 7 to 8%, so more of the meat is retained. Before the DRY AGER® existed, the advent of vacuum machines and the higher weight loss during dry aging meant that many businesses opted to switch to wet aging in a bag. At the time, the method seemed to be more reliable, faster and still less expensive. As the slow-food movement has developed in the 21st century, this process has happily been rediscovered and championed again. Dry-aged beef is now even available to buy in the supermarket.

Good meat for meat ripening
Dry Aged Beef Recipes

DRY-AGED BEEF GOOD FLAVOUR
DEMANDS GOOD QUALITY


In this case, the trend towards dry-aged meat is a real boost for flavour and quality. This is because to achieve a good result a good product must also be employed in dry-aged beef production. When it comes to sourcing animals, professional chefs and master-butchers therefore prefer breeds of cattle that grow at a slower rate. The slower growth of the muscle flesh gives it a fine fat-marbled effect. This is vital for the resulting flavour. Even if the dry-aged beef is allowed to age at rest, the meat should come from younger animals. Ideally from the heifer, a young, female cow which has not yet calved but is already fully grown. But pork, lamb and game are also suitable for dry aging – give it a try!

MORE INFORMATION

 

DRY AGED BEEF PRODUCTION


The butcher’s trade in the modern age enjoys many better technical conditions. One of the major concerns for master-butchers back in history therefore no longer arises. If there were temperature fluctuations, this could cause rotting of the bone marrow which then spoiled the entire piece of meat. In today’s high-tech industrial maturing chambers, constant temperatures of from one to three degrees Celsius must prevail. The humidity is also very precisely controlled. In addition, optimum ventilation is required. Under these conditions, the juicy beef is transformed when it is dried for between 21 and 42 days into tasty dry-aged beef. The hung meat forms a dark crust under which the soft muscular meat does its work. The crust is as black as black pudding and hard, and a white fuzz of harmless mould can even form over it. If the dry-aged meat is aged for long enough, the crust is separated from it. The meat juice evaporates and leaves behind a delicately tender, dark meat with the typical flavours of nut and butter that make the hearts of true connoisseurs beat a little faster.

THE MOST POPULAR
DRY AGED BEEF RACES



Angus beef for dry aged beef

ANGUS

Black Angus cattle can be recognized immediately on the monochrome black fur and a small bump on the hornless head. Angus is one of the world’s most popular meat cattle breeders, because the animals are premature, grow fast and guarantee incredibly delicious meat. They also manage well with different fodder species. We mainly buy our Black Angus from the USA, Ireland and Argentina. There the animals can be used all year round
Free sky.

***


Dry Aged Beef from Hereford cattle

HEREFORD

The Hereford cattle comes from Herefordshire in England, Great Britain, where it was bred already in the 17th century. From the original workmate, the Hereford became a meat bode because the attitude is unpretentious, adaptable and climatological. It is the world’s most popular meat cattle breed: North and South America (Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay), Australia, New Zealand, South Africa.

***

Dry Aged Beef from Charolais cattle

CHAROLAIS

The French breed “Charolais” is known to connoisseurs all over the world for its special meat quality, since the French breeders have always distinguished strictly between milk and meat grind breeds and “charolais” are almost exclusively cultivated for meat production. The
Meat is distinguished by the fact that it is particularly lean and has hardly any intramuscular fat deposits.

***

Dry Aged Beef from Wagyu cattle

WAGYU

Japan is home to the Wagyu cattle. For centuries the breeding of the cattle was firmly in the Japanese hand. Even today the breeders benefit from the long experience in the breeding and slaughter of the noble domestic cattle. Wagyu cattle are kept in extremely small groups. Breeders specializing in Kobe meat may even hold a maximum of 34 animals at the same time.

***

Dry Aged Meat - The chemistry of good taste

DRY AGED BEEF
THE CHEMISTRY OF
GOOD FLAVOUR


When an animal dies and the metabolism wanes, there is a deficiency of adenosine triphosphate, or ATP for short, in the muscles. Without ATP the muscle proteins remain in a rigid coupling. Only after a little time is there a release of the glycogen which, as a carbohydrate compound, is regarded as an energy reserve. The glycogen is converted into lactic acid with the aid of oxygen. This in turn activates the protease enzymes which then ultimately break up the rigid coupling. This produces a soft, delicate muscular meat. This process takes place with both dry-aged beef production and with wet aging in a vacuum. However, in the case of aging in a vacuum bag, the meat juice which escapes cannot evaporate. It also contains the lactic acid bacteria that produce a slightly metallic taste. By contrast, the escaping liquid evaporates in dry-aged beef production. This ensures that salt and fat proteins which enhance the flavour are dominant.

 

TO THE MAGAZIN

 

Dry Aged Beef Cuts
Dry Aged Backrest

PREPARING
DRY AGED BEEF YOURSELF


The time-consuming dry-aged beef production, the excellent quality of the meat and the loss of weight from the cut are reflected in the price of dry-aged beef. Dry-aged meat is expensive. 50 – 80 euros per kilogram is a normal market price. This is also one of the reasons why more and more catering businesses are opting to use their own maturing processes. For there is no longer any need for maturing chambers. Dry-aged meat can be produced very successfully in maturing bags or a dedicated maturing fridge – even in your own kitchen at home.

STEP I
MATRURING FRIDGE
OR BAG?

Dry Aged Beef Cut

A maturing fridge such as the DRY AGER® from Landig is a worthwhile investment and delivers an unrivalled result. But if you just want to test what dry-aged beef tastes like in a private capacity, you should use the dry-aged maturing bag from Lava. In terms of flavour, this special membrane dry-aging bag also has plenty to offer. The major advantage of the maturing fridge remains its capacity. Entire loins of beef can be hung by the bone, and this enhances the flavour. The bag is only suitable for cuts, and it is also important to know that in the maturing bag the lack of a fat layer and the bone side means that there is no protective outer layer and therefore unfortunately there can be weight losses of more than 30% – so it is very evident that with larger quantities the DRY AGER® will pay for itself after just a few full loads.


STEP II
A GOOD START

Dry Aged Beef

The best foundation for dry-aged meat is ideally supplied by a butcher you can trust. For around 15 euros per kilo, you can get an excellent loin of meat. You can then choose your own favourite cut, from a T-bone to a fillet. But there are also trustworthy and quality-approved suppliers online. Whatever option you choose, the essential thing is always to maintain an unbroken cold chain – and ensure maximum cleanliness during processing. Gloves, a hairnet and a face mask are just as essential as clean, sharp cutting tools.


STEP III
THE RIGHT TIME

Dry Aging Maturing time

Whether you prefer rib-eye, roast beef or a fillet steak is a matter of taste. What matters is that you age the meat for the right length of time. A tender piece of sirloin requires just about a week, and a piece on the bone can easily remain in the maturing fridge for four weeks. With the dry-aged maturing bag, an aging period of 21 days generally should not be exceeded.


STEP IV
THE TEST OF MATURITY

Dry Aged Beef Cuts

When the meat has a dark crust and smells slightly of yeast and ham, it is mature. The dark crust is cut off and can no longer be used. A mature dry-aged meat is apparent from the reddish-brown colour below the crust and the firmness of the meat. If you press a finger on the dry-aged beef, a depression ought to be left behind.


***
DRY AGED BEEF BURGER WITH
BACON, SALAD & POMMES

For 4 people:
750 grams of beef steat, 1 egg yolk, 2 shallots, pepper, Fleur de Sel, 1 pack of french fries, 1
Cucumber, 100 grams of small tomatoes, ½ head salad, some ketchup / cocktail sauce, 4 burger rolls, a little olive oil for roasting, 4 slices of mountain cheese

Preparation:
1. Mix the beef steat with the egg yolk.
2. Cut shallots very finely and with the Tatar mix.
3. Peppers, salt.
4. To form 4 equal-sized burgers.
5. Heat pan, fry the burgers medium.
6. Slice the bread roll.
7. Fry the bacon.
8. Burger rolls provided with burger patties.
9. Place the cheese and melt in the oven.
10. Add some cocktail sauce to the burger.
11. Add bacon and rolls.
12. prepare french fries according to pack instructions
13. Garnish with head salad.
14. Mix the cucumber slices with other salad, sliced tomatoes,
15. Do everything on plates and enjoy!

MORE RECIPES


Dry Aged Beef - the best

DRY AGED BEEF
MATURING FRIDGES

In a maturing fridge, it is very easy to control the humidity and temperature, and the air is also sterilised. This means you can directly influence the resulting taste and find out your own personal favourite flavour. The DRY AGER® is also supplied in an extremely attractive stainless steel design with a glazed front door. This means that just looking at it provides a sense of anticipation. The panes of glass in the DRY AGER® do not let any UV light through. This means that the meat is fully protected throughout dry-aged beef production.

TO THE DEVICES

 

 

DRY AGER Refrigerators DX 500 and DX1000
Wet-Aging Bags

DRY AGED BEEF
MATURING BAG


The partially transparent disposable bags can be used to mature the dry-aged meat semi-professionally in a normal refrigerator. The maturing bags are sealed with a vacuum device (tip: Lava vacuum sealer). Suitably packed, the dry-aged beef is stored in the refrigerator on a rack at around 3 degrees for 2 – 3 weeks.

TO THE BAGS

Menü

Früher nannte man die Dry Aged Beef Herstellung auch einfach „Fleisch abhängen“. Denn die Rinderhälften dürfen nach der Schlachtung erst mal frei in der Luft baumeln, gut gekühlt bei Temperaturen um den Gefrierpunkt. So kann Flüssigkeit entweichen und wichtige Enzyme in Ruhe ihre Arbeit verrichten. Am Ende kommt dabei ein zartes, würziges Dry Aged Fleisch heraus, das nicht nur Steak- Kenner schwärmen lässt.


Dry Aged Beef vom Rind

Die Dry Aged Beef Herstellung hat aber zwei kleine Schwachpunkte: Sie ist zeitintensiv und bringt einen Mengenverlust von bis zu 30 % mit sich – jedoch nicht im DRY AGER®, hier liegt der reine Gewichtsverlust durch Flüssigkeitsentzug nach 4 Wochen reifen am Knochen bei nur ca. 7 bis 8 %, somit bleibt mehr übrig vom Fleisch. Als es den DRY AGER® noch nicht gab stiegen viele Betriebe früher aufgrund des höheren Gewichtsverlustes beim Trockenreifen mit dem Aufkommen der Vakuummaschinen auf die Nassreifung im Beutel um. Die Methode erschien damals sicherer, schneller und bis heute preiswerter. Mit der Slow-Food- Bewegung des 21. Jahrhunderts wurde dieses Verfahren glücklicherweise wieder entdeckt und nach vorne gebracht. Inzwischen gibt es selbst im Supermarkt Dry Aged Beef zu kaufen.

Gutes Fleisch für die Fleischreifung
Dry Aged Beef Rezeptidee

GUTER GESCHMACK BRAUCHT
GUTE QUALITÄT – VON ANFANG AN


In diesem Fall ist der Trend zum Dry Aged Fleisch ein Gewinn an Geschmack und Qualität. Denn um ein gutes Ergebnis zu erhalten, muss auch gute Ware in der Dry Aged Beef Herstellung eingesetzt werden. Bei den Herkunftstieren setzen Profi-Köche und Metzgermeister daher auf weniger schnell wachsende Rinderrassen. Durch den langsameren Aufbau des Muskelfleischs erhält es eine feine Fettmarmorierung. Die ist wichtig für das
Geschmacksergebnis. Auch wenn das Dry Aged Beef in Ruhe altern darf, sollte das Fleisch von jüngeren Tieren stammen. Am besten von der Färse, einer jungen, weiblichen Kuh die noch nicht gekalbt hat, aber bereits ausgewachsen ist. Aber auch Schweinefleisch sowie Lamm und Wild eignen sich für die Trockenreifung – probieren Sie es aus!

MEHR INFOS

 

DRY AGED BEEF HERSTELLUNG


Das moderne Metzgerhandwerk hat heute viel bessere technische Bedingungen. Eine große Sorge der historischen Metzgermeister ist damit vom Tisch. Bei Temperaturschwankungen konnte es zur Fäulnis am Knochenmark kommen, die das ganze Fleischstück verdarb. In den heutigen hochtechnischen Industrie-Reifekammern müssen konstante Temperaturen von ein bis drei Grad Celsius herrschen. Auch die Luftfeuchtigkeit wird ganz genau kontrolliert. Außerdem braucht es eine optimale Belüftung. Unter diesen Voraussetzungen verwandelt sich das saftige Rindfleisch bei der Trocknung über 21 bis 42 Tage in schmackhaftes Dry Aged Beef. Das abgehangene Fleisch bildet eine dunkle Kruste, unter der das weiche Muskelfleisch arbeitet. Die Kruste ist schwarz wie Blutwurst und hart, darüber kann sogar ein weißer Flaum aus ungefährlichem Schimmel entstehen. Wenn das Dry Aged Fleisch lange genug gereift ist, wird es von der Kruste befreit. Der Fleischsaft ist verdunstet und hinterlässt ein zart mürbes, dunkles Fleisch, mit den typischen Aromen von Nuss und Butter, die wahre Kenner-Herzen höher schlagen lassen

DIE BELIEBTESTEN
DRY AGED BEEF RASSEN



Angus Rind für Dry Aged Beef

ANGUS

Black Angus Rinder erkennt man sofort am einfarbig schwarzen Fell und einer kleinen Beule auf dem hornlosen Kopf. Angus ist eine der weltweit beliebtesten Fleischrinderrassen, denn die Tiere sind frühreif, wachsen schnell und garantieren unglaublich leckeres Fleisch. Außerdem kommen sie mit verschiedenen Futtersorten gut zurecht. Wir beziehen unser Black Angus überwiegend aus den USA, Irland und Argentinien. Dort können die Tiere das ganze Jahr über unter
freiem Himmel gehalten werden.

***


Dry Aged Beef aus Hereford Rind

HEREFORD

Das Hereford-Rind stammt aus Herefordshire in England, Großbritannien, wo es bereits im 17. Jahrhundert gezüchtet wurde. Vom ursprünglichen Arbeitsrind wurde das Hereford zum Fleischrind, weil die Haltung anspruchslos, anpassungsfähig und klimatolerant ist. Es ist die am stärksten verbreitete Fleischrinderrasse der Welt: Nord- und Südamerika (Argentinien, Brasilien, Uruguay),  Australien, Neuseeland, Südafrika.

***

Dry Aged Beef aus Charolais Rind

CHAROLAIS

Die französische Rasse „Charolais“ ist bei Genießern auf der ganzen Welt für ihre besondere Fleischqualität bekannt, denn die französischen Viehzüchter unterscheiden seit jeher streng zwischen Milch- und Fleischrindrassen und „Charolais“ wird fast ausschließlich zur Fleischproduktion gezüchtet. Das
Fleisch zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass es besonders mager ist und kaum intramuskuläre Fetteilagerungen aufweist.

***

Dry Aged Beef aus Wagyu Rind

WAGYU

Japan ist die Heimat der Wagyu-Rinder. Jahrhunderte lang war die Zucht der Rinder fest in japanischer Hand. Noch heute profitieren die Züchter vor Ort von der langen Erfahrung in Zucht und Schlachtung der Edel-Hausrinder. Wagyu-Rinder werden in äußerst kleinen Gruppen gehalten. Züchter, die auf Kobe-Fleisch spezialisiert sind, dürfen sogar nur maximal 34 Tiere gleichzeitig halten.

***

Dry Ager: Rind Scribble

DRY AGED FLEISCH
DIE CHEMIE DES
GUTEN GESCHMACKS


Wenn ein Tier stirbt und der Stoffwechsel erlahmt, kommt es in den Muskeln zu einem Mangel an Adenosintriphosphat oder kurz ATP. Ohne ATP bleiben die Muskelproteine in einer starren Verbindung. Erst nach einiger Zeit wird das Glykogen freigesetzt, das als Kohlenhydratverbindung als Energiereserve gilt. Das Glykogen wird mit Hilfe von Sauerstoff in Milchsäure umgewandelt. Sie aktiviert wiederum die Proteasen Enzyme die nun endlich die starre Verbindung auflösen. So entsteht ein weiches zartes Muskelfleisch. Dieser Vorgang findet bei der Dry Aged Beef Herstellung wie auch bei der Nassreifung im Vakuum statt. Bei der Reifung im Vakuumbeutel kann allerdings der austretende Fleischsaft nicht verdunsten. Er enthält auch die Milchsäurebakterien, die einen leicht metallischen Geschmack erzeugen. Bei der Dry Aged Beef Herstellung verdunstet die austretende Flüssigkeit hingegen. So dominieren geschmacksintensivierende Salz- und Fettproteine.

 

ZUM MAGAZIN

 

Dry Aged Beef Cuts
Dry Aged Rückenstrang

DRY AGED BEEF
SELBST VORBEREITEN


Die zeitintensive Dry Aged Beef Herstellung, die gute Fleischqualität und der Gewichtsverlust durch den Abschnitt zeigen sich beim Dry Aged Beef im Preis. Trocken gereiftes Fleisch ist teuer. 50 – 80 Euro pro Kilogramm sind normal auf dem Markt. Nicht nur deshalb setzen auch immer mehr Gastronomie- Betriebe auf eigene Reifeverfahren. Denn längst sind keine Reifekammern mehr erforderlich. Dry Aged Fleisch kann in Reifebeuteln oder einem eigenen Reifeschrank bestens gelingen – selbst in der eigenen Haushaltsküche.

SCHRITT I
REIFESCHRANK
ODER BEUTEL?

Dry Aged Beef Cut

Ein Reifeschrank wie der DRY AGER® von Landig ist eine lohnende Investition und vom Ergebnis her nicht zu übertreffen. Wer jedoch gerade im privaten Bereich erst mal nur den Dry Aged Beef Geschmackstest machen will, sollte zum Dry Aged Reifebeutel von Lava greifen. Geschmacklich hat auch dieser spezielle Membranbeutel einiges zu bieten. Der große Vorteil des Reifeschranks bleibt die Kapazität. Hier können ganze Rinderrücken am Knochen abhängen, was den Geschmack intensiviert. Der Beutel eignet sich lediglich für Teilstücke, zudem wichtig zu wissen: Im Reifebeutel hat man durch den fehlenden Fettdeckel und Knochenseite keine schützende Außenschicht und somit leider Gewichtsverluste von über 30 % – man sieht also sehr deutlich, bei größeren Mengen lohnt sich der DRY AGER® nach nur wenigen Füllungen.


SCHRITT II
EIN GUTER START

Dry Aged Beef

Die perfekte Grundlage für das Dry Aged Fleisch liefert am besten der Metzger des Vertrauens. Schon für rund 15 Euro pro Kilo bekommt man hier einen schönen Rückenstrang. Den Lieblings-Cut kann man dann selbst bestimmen, vom T-Bone bis zum Filet. Aber auch online gibt es vertrauenswürdige und qualitätsgeprüfte Anbieter. So oder so gilt es immer eine ununterbrochene Kühlkette zu wahren – und höchste Sauberkeit bei der Verarbeitung. Handschuhe, Haarnetz und Mundschutz sind ebenso essentiell wie sauberes, scharfes Schneidewerkzeug.


SCHRITT III
DIE RICHTIGE ZEIT

Dry Aging Reifezeit

Ob Rib-Eye, Roastbeef oder Filet ist Geschmackssache. Wichtig ist dabei die richtige Reifezeit einzuhalten. Ein zartes Filet braucht gerade mal eine Woche, ein Knochenstück kann ruhig 4 Wochen im Reifeschrank bleiben. Beim Dry Aged Reifebeutel sollte grundsätzlich eine Reifezeit von 21 Tagen nicht überschritten werden.


SCHRITT IV
DIE REIFEPRÜFUNG

Dry Aged Beef Cuts

Wenn das Fleisch eine dunkle Kruste hat und leicht nach Hefe und Schinken riecht, ist es reif. Die dunkle Kruste wird abgeschnitten und ist nicht mehr verwendbar. Ein gut gereiftes Dry Aged Fleisch erkennt man an der rotbraunen Farbe unter der Kruste und an der Festigkeit des Fleischs. Drückt man mit dem Finger auf das Dry Aged Beef, muss eine Mulde bleiben.


***
DRY AGED BEEF BURGER MIT
SPECK, SALAT & POMMES

Für 4 Personen:
750 Gramm Rindertatar, 1 Eigelb, 2 Schalotten, Pfeffer, Fleur de Sel, 1 Packung Pommes-Frites, 1
Gurke, 100 Gramm kleine Tomaten, ½ Kopfsalat, etwas Ketchup / Cocktailsoße, 4 Burger-Brötchen, etwas Olivenöl zum Braten, 4 Scheiben Bergkäse

Zubereitung:
1. Rindertatar mit dem Eigelb mischen.
2. Schalotten sehr fein schneiden und mit dem
Tatar mischen.
3. Pfeffern, salzen.
4. Zu 4 gleichgroßen Burgern formen.
5. Pfanne erhitzen, die Burger medium braten.
6. Brötchen aufschneiden, anrösten.
7. Den Speck ausbraten.
8. Burger Brötchen mit Burgerpattie versehen.
9. Den Käse auflegen und im Ofen schmelzen.
10. Etwas Cocktailsoße auf den Burger geben.
11. Speck und Brötchen zusammenfügen.
12. Die Pommes frites nach Packungsanweisung
zubereiten.
13. Mit Kopfsalat garnieren.
14. Restlichen Salat, geschnittene Tomaten,
Gurkenscheiben mischen.
15. Alles auf Tellern anrichten und genießen!

MEHR REZEPTE


Dry Aged Beef vom Rind

DRY AGED BEEF
REIFESCHRÄNKE

In einem Reifeschrank lassen sich die Luftfeuchtigkeit sowie die Temperatur ganz einfach kontrollieren, zudem findet auch eine Entkeimung der Luft statt. Damit kann man direkt auf das Geschmacksergebnis einwirken und die persönliche Lieblingsnote herausfinden. Der DRY AGER® kommt dazu in äußerst attraktivem Edelstahldesign mit verglaster Fronttür. So bereitet schon der Anblick Vorfreude. Die Scheiben des DRY AGER® lassen kein UV-Licht durch. Damit ist das Fleisch während der Dry Aged Beef Herstellung rundum geschützt.

ZU DEN GERÄTEN

 

 

DRY AGER Reifeschränke DX 500 und DX1000
Fleisch Nassreifung im Vakuum

DRY AGED BEEF
REIFEBEUTEL


Mit den teildurchlässigen Einmalbeuteln lässt sich das Dry Aged Fleisch in einem normalen Kühlschrank semiprofessionell reifen. Die Reifebeutel werden mit einem Vakuumiergerät (Tipp: Lava Vakuumierer) verschlossen. So gut verpackt lagert das Dry Aged Beef auf einem Rost bei zirka 3 Grad für
2 – 3 Wochen im Kühlschrank.

ZU DEN REIFEBEUTELN